Springfield Branch Board Members  2017-2018

President -- Sally Vogl

Program Co-Vice Presidents  -- Mary Ann Merano and Pamela King
Membership Vice President  ---  Sally Cadagin

Treasurer -- Rianne Hawkins   
Recording Secretary -- Susan Wood

Public Policy Co-Directors -- Marcia Wherry and Nia Odeoti-Hassan

AAUW Funds Co-Directors -- Amy Green and Nancy Daugherty

College/University Relations --  Deanie Brown

Diversity/International Relations Chair -- Lynne Slightom

Interest Group Coordinator  -- Meise Fahsl

Communications Director -- Lori Cox 

Parliamentarian -- Joan McGrath

Board Meetings
Board meetings are held at 5:15 pm on the first WEDNESDAY of each month (except July). The Meetings will be hosted by a Board meeting at the location of their choice. Any member may attend. Chairs may be asked to attend Board meetings for specific reasons. See the Branchline for the date and location each month.

AAUW Funds
AAUW  Funds  fellowship and grant recipients are outstanding scholars, teachers, mentors, and role models for women and girls. Through the generous contributions of AAUW members and friends, the EOF provides support for recipients as they conduct research, earn degrees, and advance professionally. The Springfield Branch strongly supports the EOF with contributions raised through various activities throughout the year, including the Traditional Afternoon Tea.

Local Scholarships
The Springfield Branch has established six local scholarships: four at the University of Illinois at Springfield (UIS), one at St. John’s College (nursing), and one at Lincoln Land Community College (LLCC). The schools award the scholarships to students who meet the following criteria: they must be women returning to school in degree programs, and they must live in Sangamon County or in a nearby county without an AAUW branch.

All four scholarships at UIS are now fully endowed, and the Branch is building an endowment for the LLCC scholarship. The branch also awards funds to help young women attend the AAUW-sponsored National Conference of College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL). Proceeds from the used book sale, the quilt raffle, craft sales and other activities help fund these local scholarships.

Legal Advocacy Fund
The AAUW Legal Advocacy Fund (LAF) works to combat sex discrimination through community and campus outreach programs, a resource library, online advocacy tools, and various research reports. In collaboration with the AAUW Public Policy and Government Relations departments, LAF seeks amicus curae opportunities in workplace sex discrimination cases. LAF also provides financial support to workplace sex discrimination cases that have the potential to make a difference for all women. LAF fundraisers include a silent auction at the Fall Coffee and an annual garage sale.

Public Policy
Public Policy informs branch members of relevant new or continuing state and federal legislation; encourages branch members to support AAUW’s public policy and to follow bills deemed legislative priorities; and alerts members when input to legislators would be most effective.

The Branchline is distributed by e-mail. Members with no e-mail will receive the newsletter by U.S. mail. If you do not receive your newsletter by the first part of the month (August – June), contact Lori Cox (e-mail) or Sally Vogl (U.S. mail).

The Branchline deadline is the 15th of each month, July through May.

Submit all material in writing by e-mail or mail to the editor, Lisa Fowler at  3500 Tilbury, Springfield, IL 62704 or at ourpq@yahoo.com or call Lisa at 553-8029.